A PASSIONATED FOUNDER

It all starts in 2015, when Thierry Clottu, an engineer in microtechnology and a watch addict, starts creating his own wristwatch design. Armed with a heavy experience in the field, after working for more than 10 years in product development for many brands, he dares to take up this personal challenge. He then dedicates entirely to this project and overcomes one by one all the steps that lead to the finalisation of this work.

The DREAM COME TRUE

After more than a year of research and development, the MECHANICA ME1A sees his first functional prototype in 2016. The model is elegant, sober, modern, timeless with a touch of sport chic. It is equipped with a handwinding mechanical caliber (ETA 6497-1) and decorated by hand with Geneva stripes.

SOME VERY POSITIVE FEEBACK

Soon after the first presentations of the newly born watch, the comments are admirative and really laudatory. Thierry Clottu then decides to not just stick to one personnal model but to go further with it and to propose a « Swiss Made » watch of excellent quality and at a really affordable price.

THE BRAND'S BIRTH

How to find a name that best defines the image that the founder wants to give to his watches, to his philosophy ? The process may look simple but is in fact terribly difficult.

It is while discussing about his watches around him that he realizes that his project is for him more than a dream, it is an accomplishment. The need to be able to say one day with pride, i realised my dream, i made it to the end « it’s done ».

That is how the name « Done » came out of the dark for the first time.

The name « DONE WATCHES » has a double signification, because it represents not just the personnal challenge of making it to the end of your ideas « It’s DONE » but also to be associated to the birth region of this adventure, Neuchâtel, « DO » in « NE »

A SUCCESSFUL FUNDRAISING

After many researchs, the crowdfunding seems to be the most obvious choice. In fact, it is the best alternative for the development of a product free of any external constraints and in sync with the future customers.

After an excellent and convincing campaign on Kickstarter in July 2016, Thierry Clottu reunites the necessary funds to develop his project and launch his new watch brand.

THE Beginning of a new adventure

After several months monitoring the suppliers, the first 180 watches, spread over a collection of 6 different models, are delivered to 26 countries all around the world, highlighting a new starting point to this adventure, the contact with the clients.

A NEW VISION OF WATCHMAKING

Founded in 2016, DONE WATCHES opens a new path among independant watch brands. Differing from the traditional ditribution methods, it has the will to serve its customers live and without any other intermediary, to be close to his ambassadors and to be able to offer a selling price adapted to each.

DONE WATCHES has the ambitious will to reconcile the mechanical swiss watch, an attractive design and an excellent value for money.

This Website is using Cookies to improve navigation and user experience.

To comply with the GDPR directive, we need to ask for your consent to set the cookies. learn more

UN FONDATEUR PASSIONNÉ

Tout débute en 2015, lorsque Thierry Clottu, ingénieur en microtechnique et passionné d’horlogerie, décide de créer une montre à son image. Armé d’une solide expérience dans le milieu, après avoir travaillé plus de 10 ans au développement produit de grandes marques horlogères, il ose relever ce défi personnel. Il se dédie alors totalement à son projet et franchit une à une toutes les étapes du processus de création pour voir la réalisation de celui-ci.

L'ACCOMPLISSEMENT D’UN RÊVE

Après plus d’une année de développement, le modèle MECHANICA ME1A voit le jour en 2016 sous forme de prototype fonctionnel. Le modèle se veut élégant, sobre, moderne, intemporel avec une touche sport-chic.Il est équipé d’un calibre mécanique à remontage manuel (ETA 6497-1), décoré à la main de « Côtes de Genève en éventail ».

DES RETOURS TRÈS POSITIFS

Dès les premières présentations les commentaires sont élogieux et les regards admiratifs. Thierry Clottu se décide alors de ne pas en rester à un seul modèle personnel mais d’aller plus loin dans la démarche et de proposer un produit horloger mécanique, « Swiss Made » d’excellente qualité à un prix réellement abordable.

LA NAISSANCE D’UNE MARQUE

Comment trouver le nom qui définira au mieux l’image que le fondateur veut donner à ses montres, à sa philosophie? Le processus paraît simple mais il est terriblement ardu.

C’est en discutant de ses montres autour de lui qu’il réalise que son projet est pour lui plus qu’un rêve, c’est un accomplissement. Un besoin de pouvoir dire un jour avec fierté, je suis allé jusqu’au bout de mes idées, « je l’ai fait ».

C’est ainsi que le nom de « DONE » (« fait ») est ressortit pour la première fois.

Le nom « DONE WATCHES » a d’ailleurs une double signification, car il représente non seulement le défi personnel qui a motivé son fondateur et qui l’a permis de réaliser ce projet « It’s DONE » mais également d’être associé à la région où tout a commencé, Neuchâtel, « DO » in « NE » :

UNE RECHERCHE DE FONDS FRUCTUEUSE

Après quelques recherches, le financement participatif s’impose comme une évidence. Effectivement, c’est la meilleure alternative pour développer un produit libéré de toute contrainte extérieure et en phase avec ses clients.

Après une excellente et concluante campagne Kickstarter en Juillet 2016, Thierry Clottu réunit les fonds nécessaires pour développer son projet et lancer sa marque de montre.

LE DÉBUT D’UNE BELLE AVENTURE

Après plusieurs mois de suivi chez les fournisseurs, les 180 premières montres, réparties sur une collection de 6 modèles différents, sont livrées dans 26 pays tout autour du monde. Ces livraisons marquent alors le début d'une nouvelle étape dans cette aventure, le contact avec les clients.

UNE NOUVELLE VISION DE L’HORLOGERIE

Fondée en 2016, DONE WATCHES ouvre une nouvelle voie parmi les marques horlogères indépendantes. Sortant des principes de la distribution classique, elle a la volonté de servir ses clients en direct, sans aucun intermédiaire afin d’être au plus proche de ses ambassadeurs et de pouvoir offrir un prix de vente adapté à chacun.

DONE WATCHES se donne le pari ambitieux de réconcilier montre mécanique suisse, design attractif et rapport qualité prix exceptionnel.

Ce site internet utilise les Cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation.

En navigant sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies. En savoir plus